How to clear Chrome history and cache

clear Chrome history and cache

As you visit web sites using the Google Chrome web browser, cookies are saved on your computer, and a history of visited sites is retained. Some content, like images and web pages, are temporarily stored, or cached, for use the next time you visit the site. This helps the content load faster, saving time, and saving resources on the server that hosts the content. Over time, the cached data may accumulate to the extent where it consumes too much space, or is just in the way. Google makes it easy to clear Chrome history and cache in a few clicks.

Clearing history and cache is not without potential consequences, however minor they may seem. Web sites you visit often may no longer auto-fill in your address bar. When content caches, it loads faster as a result, but you may be looking at out-of-date content without realizing it. Clearing cache will request a new copy of a web page from its host server. Since clearing cache removes the web page’s locally stored content, the web site may seem slow to load as the new content downloads.

View Your History

To view your history, click the Customize and control Google Chrome button, a menu icon with 3 vertical dots clear Chrome history and cache located to the right of the web address bar. Mouse over History, and then click History. You can also type chrome://history/ into the address bar, or use the Ctrl+H shortcut from your keyboard. Your Chrome history will display.

To clear specific items from History, click the check box in front of the item(s). Once you have selected the items you want to remove, click the Remove selected items button.

To clear the entire history, click the Clear browsing data… button. A new Clear browsing data window will display. To launch the Clear browsing data window, you can also:

  • type chrome://settings/clearBrowserData into the address bar
  • use the Ctrl+Shift+Del shortcut from your keyboard
  • click Menu clear Chrome history and cache > More tools > Clear browsing data

clear Chrome history and cache

Use the Obliterate the following items from: pulldown menu to select the timeframe you want to clear. In this example, we have selected to clear items from the beginning of time. By default, Chrome pre-checks the Browsing history, Download history, Cookies and other site and plugin data, and Cached images and files options.

Chrome history is cleaned on other devices if you are logged into Chrome from them too. Thank you for visiting Tech Help Knowledgebase to learn how to clear Chrome history and cache.

Image credit:  Pixabay / Boenz